ISLE OF WIGHT COUNCIL

Members allowances 2020 to 2021

Set out below are the details of the allowances paid to Members of the Isle of Wight Council for the year commencing 1 April 2020 to 31 March 2021.

All Members receive a basic allowance, and some Members also receive a Special Responsibility Allowance which reflects their additional responsibilities. These allowances are also intended to cover a range of expenses including such things as telephony expenses, paper, print cartridges and other supplies used for Council business.

All Members are also entitled to receive a travel allowance for Island travel. This is calculated using a formula based on the distance of their home from County Hall and the post they hold. Additionally, Members are entitled to claim the expenses of any off Island travel and subsistence they incur whilst on Council business. For some Members this will be higher than others as they represent the Isle of Wight Council on National Boards and have other network meetings which they attend on behalf of the Council.

All the allowances are subject to tax and national insurance contributions.

In making or amending the scheme of allowances, the authority has regard to the recommendations of an independent remuneration panel.

Copies of the Member Allowances Scheme and a record of the payments made in accordance with the scheme are available for inspection by members of the public during normal office hours at:

County Hall High Street Newport Isle of Wight PO30 1UD

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Travelling and Subsistence Allowance £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr Barry Abraham	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	688.44			17,152.44
Cllr Debbie Andre	8,232.00	807.00	Leader of a political group of 5 or more	458.88			9,497.88
Cllr Adrian Axford	7,546.00	3,018.40	Pension Fund Chair	525.80			11,090.20
Cllr Reg Barry	8,232.00	1,783.60	Audit Chairman (part yr)	583.23			10,598.83
Cllr Paul Bertie	8,232.00	0.00		344.16			8,576.16
Cllr Michael Beston	8,232.00	4,116.00	Neighbourhoods and Regeneration Policy and Scrutiny Committee Chair	458.88			12,806.88
Cllr Paul Brading	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	803.16			17,267.16
Cllr Geoff Brodie	8,232.00	0.00		229.44			8,461.44
Cllr George Cameron	8,232.00	5,762.40	Chairman of Council	573.60			14,568.00
Cllr Charles Chapman	8,232.00	2,469.60	Licensing Chair	573.60			11,275.20
Cllr Vanessa Churchman	8,232.00	4,116.00	Children's Services, Education and Skills Policy and Scrutiny Committee Chair	701.84			13,049.84
Cllr Rodney Downer	8,232.00	0.00		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr Paul Fuller	8,232.00	0.00		368.96			8,600.96
Cllr Andrew Garratt	8,232.00	3,773.00	Corporate Scrutiny Chair (part yr)	334.60			12,339.60
Cllr Steve Hastings	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	803.16			17,267.16
Cllr Stephen Hendry	8,232.00	0.00		344.16			8,580.52
Cllr John Hobart	8,232.00	3,430.00	Cabinet Member (part yr)	487.61			12,149.61
Cllr Richard Hollis	8,232.00	4,459.00	Corporate Scrutiny Chair (part yr)	572.98			13,263.98

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Travelling and Subsistence Allowance £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr John Howe	8,232.00	0.00		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr Stuart Hutchinson	8,232.00	10,290.00	Deputy Leader	803.16			19,325.16
Cllr Julie Jones-Evans	8,232.00	0.00		229.44			8,461.44
Cllr John Kilpatrick	8,232.00	1,646.40	Appeals Chair	458.88			10,337.28
Cllr Michael Lilley	8,232.00	1,646.40	Corporate Scrutiny Vice- Chair	458.88			10,337.28
Cllr Karl Love	8,232.00	0.00		344.16			8,576.16
Cllr John Medland	8,232.00	0.00		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr Clare Mosdell	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	0.00			16,464.00
Cllr Michael Murwill	8,232.00	0.00		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr John Nicholson	8,232.00	4,939.20	Health and Social Care Policy and Scrutiny Committee Chair	573.60			13,744.80
Cllr Tig Outlaw	8,232.00	,		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr Gary Peace	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	688.44			17,152.44
Cllr Lora Peacey- Wilcox	8,232.00	0.00		449.32			8,681.32
Cllr Graham Perks	8,232.00	0.00		458.88			8,690.88
Cllr Matthew Price	8,232.00	1,646.40	Planning Vice Chair	344.16			10,222.56
Cllr Chris Quirk	8,232.00	6,585.60	Planning Chair	688.44			15,506.04
Cllr Shirley Smart	8,232.00	1,646.40	Vice Chairman of Council	229.44			10,107.84
Cllr Ian Stephens	8,232.00	0.00		344.16			8,576.16
Cllr David Stewart	8,232.00	16,464.00	Leader of the Council; Leader of a political group of 10 or more; Hampshire Police & Crime Panel Chair	1,117.04			25,813.04
Cllr Brian Tyndall	8,232.00	6,174.00	Cabinet Member (part yr)	659.71			15,065.71

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Travelling and Subsistence Allowance £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr Ian Ward	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	834.16			17,298.16
Cllr Wayne Whittle	8,232.00	8,232.00	Cabinet Member	688.44			17,152.44
Alistair Drain					300.96		300.96
John Matthews					300.96		300.96
Total	328,598.36	142,397.40		20,517.21	601.92	0.00	492,114.89