ISLE OF WIGHT COUNCIL

Members Allowances 2022 to 2023

Set out below are the details of the allowances paid to Members of the Isle of Wight Council for the year commencing 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2023.

All Members receive a basic allowance, and some Members also receive a Special Responsibility Allowance which reflects their additional responsibilities. These allowances are also intended to cover a range of expenses including such things as telephony expenses, paper, print cartridges and other supplies used for council business.

All Members are also entitled to receive a travel allowance for Island travel. This is calculated using a formula based on the distance of their home from County Hall and the post they hold. Additionally, Members are entitled to claim the expenses of any off-Island travel and subsistence they incur whilst on Council business. For some Members this will be higher than others as they represent the Isle of Wight Council on National Boards and have other network meetings which they attend on behalf of the Council.

*no claims were received or payment was made for any Dependent Carers Allowance in 2022-23.

All the allowances are subject to tax and national insurance contributions.

In making or amending the scheme of allowances, the authority has regard to the recommendations of an independent remuneration panel.

Copies of the Member Allowances Scheme and a record of the payments made in accordance with the scheme are available for inspection by members of the public during normal office hours at:

Democratic Services County Hall High Street Newport Isle of Wight PO30 1UD

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance, Off Island Travel and Subsistence Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Total £
Cllr David Adams	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Debbie Andre	8,832	8.832	Cabinet Member	1,470.01		19,134.01
Cllr Jonathan Bacon	8,832	8.832	Cabinet Member	849		18,513
Cllr Michael Beston	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Paul Brading	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Geoff Brodie	8,832	797.73	Chairman of Council (part yr)	270.82		9,900.55
Cllr Vanessa Churchman	8,832	0		507.76		9,339.76
Cllr Claire Critchison	8,832	5,612.59	Chairman of Council (part yr)	989.41		15,434
Cllr Ian Dore	8,832	1,766.40	Chairman of Appeals Committee	606.36		11,204.76
Cllr Rodney Downer	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Warren Drew	8,832	1,538.48	Vice Chairman for Planning Committee (Part yr)	584.76		10,955.24
Cllr Suzie Ellis	8,832	0	, ,	485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Paul Fuller	8,832	8,832	Cabinet Member	727.68		18,391.68
Cllr Andrew Garratt	8,832	3,532.80	Chairman for Audit Committee	485.16		12,849.96
Cllr Steve Hastings*	4,413.67	0		254.17		4,667.84
Cllr Stephen Hendry	8,832	0		363.84		9,195.84
Cllr Chris Jarman	8,832	8,532	Cabinet Member	849		17,814.92
Cllr Julie Jones- Evans	8,832	8,832	Cabinet Member	1,783.06		19,447.06
Cllr Philip Jordan	8,832	8,832	Cabinet Member	849		18,513

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance, Off Island Travel and Subsistence Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Total £
Cllr Joe Lever			Chairman for			
			Neighbourhoods and			
	8,832	3,688.56	Regeneration (part yr)	449.04		12,969.60
			Chairman Planning			
Cllr Michael Lilley			Committee (part yr)			
,	0.000	0.450.47	Vice Chairman of	500.05		44.040.00
<u></u>	8,832	2,450.17	Council (part yr)	536.05		11,818.22
Cllr Karl Love	8,832	8,832	Cabinet Member	1,089.27		18,753.27
			Chairman for Policy			
			and Scrutiny for			
Cllr Karen Lucioni			Neighbourhoods and			
			Regeneration (part yr)			
	0.000	7 700 54	to Cabinet Member	4 404 00		47 704 54
	8,832	7,768.51	(part yr)	1,104.03		17,704.54
Cllr John Medland	8,832	6,153.91	Chairman Planning Committee (part yr)	689.28		15,675.19
Olla Olana Maadali**	•		Committee (part yr)			
Cllr Clare Mosdell**	8,832	0	01 : (D ::	0		8,832
Cllr John Nicholson			Chairman for Policy			
	0.000	E 200 20	and Scrutiny for Health	606.26		4.4.707.EC
Olla Mantin Olivean	8,832	5,299.20	and Adult Social Care	606.36		14,737.56
Cllr Martin Oliver	8,832	0		242.52		9,074.52
Cllr Tig Outlaw	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Gary Peace	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Cllr Lora Peacey			Executive Leader			
Wilcox	8,832	17,664		1,533.49		28,029.49
Cllr Daryll Pitcher			Chairman for Licensing			
	8,832	2,373.60	Committee (part yr)	471.88		11,677.48
Cllr Matthew Price	8,832	0		242.52		9,074.52
Cllr Ray Redrup	8,832	0		242.52		9,074.52

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance, Off Island Travel and Subsistence Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Total £
Cllr Joe Robertson	8,832	1,766.40	Leader of a group of 10 or more	603		11,201.40
Cllr Richard Quigley	8,832	8,832	Chairman of Corporate Scrutiny	603		18,267
Cllr Chris Quirk	8,832	1,766.40	Vice Chairman of Corporate Scrutiny	603		11,201.40
Cllr Peter Spink	8,832	0		479.64		9,311.64
Cllr Ian Stephens	8,832	11,040	Deputy Leader and Cabinet member	1,685.35		21,557.35
Cllr Nick Stuart***	3,045.70	0		124.49		3,170.19
Cllr Ian Ward	8,832	0		485.16		9,317.16
Alistair Drain					300.96	300.96
John Matthews					300.96	300.96
Christopher Mathews					300.96	300.96
Tracy Ringer					300.96	300.96
Aaron Wright					300.96	300.96
Total					1,504.80	513,533.59

^{*}no longer serving councillor **opted out of on Island Travel Allowance ***elected part year