ISLE OF WIGHT COUNCIL

Members Allowances 2021 to 2022

Set out below are the details of the allowances paid to Members of the Isle of Wight Council for the year commencing 1 April 2021 to 31 March 2022.

All Members receive a basic allowance, and some Members also receive a Special Responsibility Allowance which reflects their additional responsibilities. These allowances are also intended to cover a range of expenses including such things as telephony expenses, paper, print cartridges and other supplies used for Council business.

All Members are also entitled to receive a travel allowance for Island travel. This is calculated using a formula based on the distance of their home from County Hall and the post they hold. Additionally, Members are entitled to claim the expenses of any off-Island travel and subsistence they incur whilst on Council business. For some Members this will be higher than others as they represent the Isle of Wight Council on National Boards and have other network meetings which they attend on behalf of the Council.

All the allowances are subject to tax and national insurance contributions.

In making or amending the scheme of allowances, the authority has regard to the recommendations of an independent remuneration panel.

Copies of the Member Allowances Scheme and a record of the payments made in accordance with the scheme are available for inspection by members of the public during normal office hours at:

Democratic Services County Hall High Street Newport Isle of Wight PO30 1UD

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance and Off Island Travel Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr Barry Abraham*	885.16	885.16	Cabinet Member (part yr)	74.03			1,844.35
Cllr David Adams	7,476.34	0.00		412.13			7,888.47
Cllr Debbie Andre	8,377.00	7,239.08	Cabinet Member	872.47			16,488.55
Cllr Adrian Axford*	243.42	97.37	Chairman of IW Pension Fund Committee (part yr)	16.96			357.75
Cllr Jonathan Bacon	7,476.34	7,115.41	Cabinet Member	721.19			15,312.94
Cllr Reg Barry*	885.16	354.06	Chairman for Audit Committee (part yr)	74.03			1,313.25
Cllr Paul Bertie*	885.16	0.00		37.01			922.17
Cllr Michael Beston	8,377.00	630.53	Chairman for Policy and Scrutiny for Neighbourhoods and Regeneration (part yr)	481.21			9,488.74
Cllr Paul Brading	8,377.00	1,261.08	Cabinet Member (part yr)	722.34			10,360.42
Cllr Geoff Brodie	8,377.00	4,116.07	Chairman of Council	444.83			12,937.90
Cllr George Cameron*	1,372.00	960.40	Chairman of Council (part Yr)	95.60			1,428.00
Cllr Charles Chapman*	885.16	265.55	Chairman of Licensing (part yr)	61.68			1,212.39
Cllr Vanessa Churchman	8,377.00	630.53	Chairman of Policy and Scrutiny for Children's Services, Education and Skills (part yr)	604.77			9,612.39
Cllr Claire Critchison	7,476.34	2,288.35	Vice Chairman of Council	512.80			10,277.49
Cllr lan Dore	7,476.34	1,423.08	Chairman of Appeals Committee	515.08			9,414.50
Cllr Rodney Downer	8,377.00	0.00		481.21			8,858.21

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance and Off Island Travel Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr Warren Drew	7,476.34	0.00		412.13			7,888.47
Cllr Suzie Ellis	7,476.34	0.00		412.13			7,888.47
Cllr Paul Fuller	8,377.00	7,115.41	Cabinet Member	769.70			16,262.11
Cllr Andrew Garratt	8,377.00	2,846.17	Chairman for Audit Committee	446.67			11,669.84
Cllr Steve Hastings	8,377.00	6,688.33	Chairman of Corporate Scrutiny (part yr)	689.60			15,754.93
Cllr Stephen Hendry	8,377.00	0.00		360.88			8,737.88
Cllr John Hobart*	885.16	0.00		37.01			922.17
Cllr Richard Hollis*	885.16	885.16	Corporate Scrutiny Chairman (part yr)	61.68			1,832.00
Cllr John Howe*	885.16	0.00		49.34			934.50
Cllr Stuart			Deputy Leader and Cabinet				
Hutchinson*	885.16	1,106.45	Member (part yr)	86.36			2,077.97
Cllr Chris Jarman	7,476.34	7,115.41	Cabinet Member	721.19			15,312.94
Cllr Julie Jones-Evans	8,377.00	7,115.41	Cabinet member	549.62			16,042.03
Cllr Philip Jordan	7,476.34	7,115.41	Cabinet Member	768.59			15,360.34
Cllr John Kilpatrick*	885.16	177.03	Chairman for Appeals Committee (part yr)	49.34			1,111.53
Cllr Joe Lever	7,476.34	0.00		206.01			7,682.35
Cllr Michael Lilley	8,377.00	5,944.55	Chairman of Planning Committee	584.16			14,905.71
Cllr Karl Love	8,377.00	7,115.41	Cabinet Member	669.95			16,162.36
Cllr Karen Lucioni	7,476.34	3,557.65	Chairman for Policy and Scrutiny for Neighbourhoods and Regeneration	671.74			11,705.73
Cllr John Medland	8,377.00	0.00		481.21			8,858.21

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance and Off Island Travel Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr Clare Mosdell	8,377.00	1,261.08	Cabinet Member	0.00			9,638.08
Cllr Michael Murwill*	885.16	0.00		49.34			934.50
Cllr John Nicholson			Chairman for Policy and Scrutiny for Health and Adult				
	8,377.00	5,034.64	Social Care	601.43			14,013.07
Cllr Martin Oliver	7,476.34	0.00		206.01			7,682.35
Cllr Tig Outlaw	8,377.00	0.00		481.21			8,858.21
Cllr Gary Peace	8,377.00	1,261.08	Cabinet Member (part yr)	515.77			10,153.85
Cllr Lora Peacey			Leader				
Wilcox	8,377.00	14,230.83		682.35			23,290.18
Cllr Graham Perks*	885.16	0.00		49.34			934.50
Cllr Daryll Pitcher	7,476.34	2,134.57	Chairman for Licensing Committee	412.13			10,023.04
Cllr Matthew Price	8,377.00	252.22	Vice Chairman for Planning Committee (part yr)	257.82			8,887.04
Cllr Ray Redrup	7,476.34	0.00		206.01			7,682.35
Cllr Joe Robertson	7,476.34	583.68	Leader of a group of 10 or more (part yr)	435.89			8,495.91
Cllr Richard Quigley			Chairman of Policy and Scrutiny for Children's Services, Education and Skills (part yr)– from January 2022 Chairman of Corporate				
	7,476.34	4,401.86	Scrutiny	541.80			12,420.00
Cllr Chris Quirk	8,377.00	2,175.24	Chairman of Planning Committee (part yr)	597.81			11,150.05
Cllr Shirley Smart*	1,261.36	252.27	Vice Chairman of Council (part yr)	35.16			1,548.79

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Special Responsibility Duties	Island Travel Allowance and Off Island Travel Expenses £	Co-optees' Allowance £	Childcare Expenses £	Total £
Cllr peter Spink	7,476.34	0.00		366.03			7,842.37
Cllr Ian Stephens	8,377.00	8,894.30	Deputy Leader and Cabinet member	66.95			17,941.25
Cllr David Stewart*	1,261.36	2,522.71	Leader (part yr)	123.06			3,907.13
Cllr Brian Tyndall*	907.29	907.29	Cabinet Member (part yr)	88.52			1,903.10
Cllr Ian Ward	8,377.00	1,261.08	Cabinet member (part yr)	533.04			10,171.12
Cllr Wayne Whittle*	885.16	885.16	Cabinet member (part yr)	74.03			1,844,35
Alistair Drain					300.96		300.96
John Matthews					300.96		300.96
Christopher Mathews					330.52		330.52
Tracy Ringer					330.52		330.52
Aaron Wright					330.52		330.52
Total					1,593.48	0.00	480,741.69

*no longer serving councillor