PAPER A



Minutes

Name of meeting EXTRA ORDINARY FULL COUNCIL

Date and time WEDNESDAY, 25 SEPTEMBER 2019

Venue COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF

WIGHT

Present Cllrs George Cameron (Chairman), Barry Abraham, Debbie Andre,

Reg Barry, Michael Beston, Paul Brading, Vanessa Churchman, Rodney Downer, Paul Fuller, Andrew Garratt, Stephen Hastings, Stephen Hendry, John Hobart, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones-Evans, John Kilpatrick, Karl Love, John Medland, John Nicholson, Gary Peace, Lora Peacey-Wilcox, Graham Perks, Matthew Price, Chris Quirk, Shirley Smart, Dave Stewart,

Brian Tyndall, Ian Ward,

Apologies Cllrs Adrian Axford, Paul Bertie, Geoff Brodie, Charles Chapman,

Michael Lilley, Clare Mosdell, Michael Murwill Tig Outlaw,

Ian Stephens, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle

30. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations received at this stage.

31. St Mary's junction Improvements

Councillor Jones Evans proposed the following:

THAT council agrees to pause the proposed works at St Mary's junction until after improvement works have been completed for the Coppins Bridge junction.

An amendment was proposed by Councillor Dave Stewart and seconded by Councillor Stuart Hutchinson as follows:

This council requests cabinet to urgently review the timings of works and traffic light operation at Coppins Bridge to ensure that any traffic disruption caused by those works and the associated works at St Mary's roundabout are reduced to the minimum possible.

A short adjournment was called by the Chairman to deal with disruption from the Public gallery.

Following debate, in accordance with procedure rule 16 (3.5) four members requested a named vote.

A named vote was taken on the amendment, the result of which was as follows:

For (16)

Barry Abraham, Michael Beston, Paul Brading, George Cameron, Vanessa Churchman, Stephen Hastings, Stephen Hendry, John Hobart, Stuart Hutchinson, John Kilpatrick, John Nicholson, Gary Peace, Chris Quirk, Dave Stewart, Brian Tyndall, Ian Ward,

Against (12)

Councillors Debbie Andre, Reg Barry, Paul Fuller, Andrew Garratt, John Howe, Julie Jones-Evans, Karl Love, John Medland, Lora Peacey-Wilcox, Graham Perks, Matthew Price, Shirley Smart,

The amendment then became the substantive motion and following debate, in accordance with procedure rule 16 (3.5) four members requested a named vote.

A named vote was taken on the substantive, the result of which was as follows:

<u>For</u> (16)

Barry Abraham, Michael Beston, Paul Brading, George Cameron, Vanessa Churchman, Stephen Hastings, Stephen Hendry, John Hobart, Stuart Hutchinson, John Kilpatrick, John Nicholson, Gary Peace, Chris Quirk, Dave Stewart, Brian Tyndall, Ian Ward,

Against (12)

Councillors Debbie Andre, Reg Barry, Paul Fuller, Andrew Garratt, John Howe, Julie Jones-Evans, Karl Love, John Medland, Lora Peacey-Wilcox, Graham Perks, Matthew Price, Shirley Smart,

Members were advised that a public meeting had been arranged for Thursday, 17 October 2019 at Medina Theatre in which members of the public were invited to attend.

RESOLVED:

THAT This council requests cabinet to urgently review the timings of works and traffic light operation at Coppins Bridge to ensure that any traffic disruption caused by those works and the associated works at St Mary's roundabout are reduced to the minimum possible.

CHAIRMAN