PAPER A



Minutes

Name of meeting FULL COUNCIL

Date and time

WEDNESDAY, 1 FEBRUARY 2017 COMMENCING AT 5.00 PM

Venue COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF WIGHT

Present Cllrs Charles Chapman (Chairman), Jonathan Bacon, Julia Baker-Smith, Reg Barry, Paul Bertie, Bloomfield, Rav Rodney Downer, Bob Blezzard, Paul Fuller, Conrad Gauntlett, Jonathan Gilbey, Luisa Hillard, John Hobart, Alan Hollands, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones-Evans, Gordon Kendall, Geoff Lumlev. John Medland, John Nicholson, Lora Peacey-Wilcox, Graham Perks, Daryll Pitcher, Matthew Price. **Richard Priest**, Bob Seely, Shirley Smart, lan Stephens, Dave Stewart, Steve Stubbings, lan Ward, Ivor Warlow, Roger Whitby-Smith, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle

Apologies Cllrs David Eccles, Richard Hollis and Phil Jordan

Prior to the start of the meeting the Canon Morris lead the chamber in a minute's silence in remembrance of the passing of Councillor Colin Richards and former councillor and Leader of the Council, Morris Barton OBE.

47. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Perks declared an interest as he was a local business man in Ventnor.

48. Election of Committee Chairmen

(a) Councillor Paul Fuller was proposed and seconded as Chairman of the Scrutiny Committee. A named vote was taken the result of which was as follows:

For Councillor Paul Fuller (35)

Councillors Jonathan Bacon, Julia Baker Smith, Reg Barry, Paul Bertie, Bob Blezzard, Ray Bloomfield, Rodney Downer, Paul Fuller, Conrad Gauntlett, Jonathan Gilbey, Luisa Hillard, John Hobart, Alan Hollands, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones Evans, Gordon Kendall, Geoff Lumley, John Medland, John Nicholson, Lora Peacey Wilcox, Graham Perks, Daryll Pitcher, Matthew Price, Richard Priest, Bob Seely, Shirley Smart, Ian Stephens, Dave Stewart, Steve Stubbings, Ian Ward, Ivor Warlow, Roger Whitby Smith, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle Abstained (0)

Against (0)

RESOLVED:

THAT Councillor Paul Fuller be elected Chairman of the Scrutiny Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

(b) Councillor Gordon Kendall was proposed and seconded as Chairman of the Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Sub Committee. A named vote was taken the result of which was as follows:

For Councillor Gordon Kendall (35)

Councillors Jonathan Bacon, Julia Baker Smith, Reg Barry, Paul Bertie, Bob Blezzard, Ray Bloomfield, Rodney Downer, Paul Fuller, Conrad Gauntlett, Jonathan Gilbey, Luisa Hillard, John Hobart, Alan Hollands, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones Evans, Gordon Kendall, Geoff Lumley, John Medland, John Nicholson, Lora Peacey Wilcox, Graham Perks, Daryll Pitcher, Matthew Price, Richard Priest, Bob Seely, Shirley Smart, Ian Stephens, Dave Stewart, Steve Stubbings, Ian Ward, Ivor Warlow, Roger Whitby Smith, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle

Abstained (0)

Against (0)

RESOLVED:

THAT Councillor Gordon Kendall be elected Chairman of the Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Sub Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

(c) Councillor Reg Barry was proposed and seconded as Chairman of the Audit Committee. A named vote was taken the result of which was as follows:

For Councillor Reg Barry (35)

Councillors Jonathan Bacon, Julia Baker Smith, Reg Barry, Paul Bertie, Bob Blezzard, Ray Bloomfield, Rodney Downer, Paul Fuller, Conrad Gauntlett, Jonathan Gilbey, Luisa Hillard, John Hobart, Alan Hollands, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones Evans, Gordon Kendall, Geoff Lumley, John Medland, John Nicholson, Lora Peacey Wilcox, Graham Perks, Daryll Pitcher, Matthew Price, Richard Priest, Bob Seely, Shirley Smart, Ian Stephens, Dave Stewart, Steve Stubbings, Ian Ward, Ivor Warlow, Roger Whitby Smith, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle Abstained (0)

Against (0)

RESOLVED:

THAT Councillor Reg Barry be elected as Chairman of the Audit Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

(d) Councillor Roger Whitby-Smith was proposed and seconded as Chairman of the Appeals Committee. A named vote was taken the result of which was as follows:

For Councillor Roger Whitby-Smith (35)

Councillors Jonathan Bacon, Julia Baker Smith, Reg Barry, Paul Bertie, Bob Blezzard, Ray Bloomfield, Rodney Downer, Paul Fuller, Conrad Gauntlett, Jonathan Gilbey, Luisa Hillard, John Hobart, Alan Hollands, John Howe, Stuart Hutchinson, Julie Jones Evans, Gordon Kendall, Geoff Lumley, John Medland, John Nicholson, Lora Peacey Wilcox, Graham Perks, Daryll Pitcher, Matthew Price, Richard Priest, Bob Seely, Shirley Smart, Ian Stephens, Dave Stewart, Steve Stubbings, Ian Ward, Ivor Warlow, Roger Whitby Smith, Chris Whitehouse, Wayne Whittle

Abstained (0)

Against (0)

RESOLVED :

THAT Councillor Roger Whitby-Smith be elected Chairman of the Appeals Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

CHAIRMAN